Holler Country Music

Jason Isbell And Drive-By Truckers Bandmates to Release 4 LP Box Set

By Zoe Hodges

link icon

Link copied

Mike Cooley, Patterson Hood and Jason Isbell have announced they’ll be releasing an exclusive 4 LP box set of their memorable Live At The Shoals Theatre performance.

The record is due out on June 4th. It’s nearly seven years ago since Isbell reunited with fellow Drive-By Truckers bandmates Hood and Cooley for a special round-style night in Muscle Shoals. The setlist included acoustic versions of songs such as ‘Heathens’, ’Zip City’, and ‘Cover Me Up’. It was recorded on June 15th 2014. Last year Isbell released his acclaimed album ‘Reunions’ with the 400 Unit, produced by Dave Cobb. The 10-track record got into the top 20 of the UK albums chart.

Meanwhile the Drive-By Truckers released two albums in 2020 beginning with The Unraveling last January followed by The New Ok which was recorded in Memphis during what Hood describes as “the endless summer of protests, riots, political shenanigans and pandemic horrors”. The Unraveling was recorded at the legendary Sam Phillips Recording Service in Memphis Tennessee by Grammy award winning engineer Matt Ross-Spang.

‘Live At The Shoals Theatre’ is available to pre-order now. All pre-orders will receive an instant download of the entire LP.