Holler Country Music
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSWillie Nelson - Stardust

By Jof Owen, June 21, 2022

Stardust managed to capture something almost childlike in its simplicity; Nelson’s gently picked guitar drawing out the melancholy from the songs and filling the space around it with a wistful sense of the slow passing of time. The whole album is just a step away from being a collection of really fucking sad Muppets songs.

Holler Country Music
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSGretchen Wilson - Here for the Party

By Soda Canter, June 20, 2022

Here for the Party is the soundtrack to which we can honor our own gloriously complicated lives and fully accept our origin stories with outward pride.

Holler Country Music
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSWillie Nelson - Red Headed Stranger

By Saby Reyes-Kulkarni, June 8, 2022

‘Red Headed Stranger’ not only catapulted Willie Nelson to superstardom, but it also marked his first artistic triumph on his own terms. Its impact on country music has been incalculable.

Willie Nelson - Yesterday's Wine Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSWillie Nelson - Yesterday's Wine

By Mark Hagen, May 30, 2022

When Willie found a new creative impetus in Austin, he began an artistic rebirth that continues unabated to this day. Crucially, Yesterday’s Wine is where it started.

Miranda Lambert - Revolution Vinyl Me Please Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSMiranda Lambert - Revolution

By Bee Scott, May 23, 2022

Revolution is a masterclass in songwriting that perfectly balances tradition with modern style. Inarguably, it remains the template for what great country music should always be about.

Nancy Sinatra & Lee Hazlewood - Nancy & Lee
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSNancy Sinatra & Lee Hazlewood - Nancy & Lee

By Carena Liptak, May 19, 2022

The songs on Nancy & Lee helped both artists to shape their sounds at pivotal moments in their lives; creating a dark, complex and ethereal synergy that would inform generations that followed.

Holler Country Music
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSThe Black Crowes - The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion

By Saby Reyes-Kulkarni, May 10, 2022

Though Southern Harmony was followed by The Black Crowes’ slow descent from mainstream visibility, it marked the beginning of a vibrant creative streak that still resounds beautifully this many years later.

Bobbie Gentry - Fancy Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSBobbie Gentry - Fancy

By Soda Canter, May 4, 2022

Put this record on and turn the volume up, this is our one chance to not let Gentry down any further.

Willie Nelson - Always On My Mind Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSWillie Nelson - Always On My Mind

By Mark Hagen, February 23, 2022

As with all of Willie’s albums, there are things to love here. It also remains a fascinating look at an artist trying to work out his place in the world.

Holler Country Music
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSGram Parsons - Grievous Angel

By Hal Horowitz, January 10, 2022

Grievous Angel is an extraordinary entry in the limited Gram Parsons catalog; a true milestone of Americana - or, more aptly, cosmic American music.

Holler Country Music
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSTaylor Swift - Red

By Will Groff, November 8, 2021

As with so much of Swift’s output, Red can be remembered as it should be: truly, gloriously singular. Just don’t say it’s her best album.

Album - Sam Hunt - Montevallo
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSSam Hunt - Montevallo

By Bee Scott, October 25, 2021

It’s certainly not your momma’s taste of traditional country, yet Montevallo's honoring of storytelling roots makes it one of the great modern country classics.

Album - Steve Earle - Copperhead Road
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSSteve Earle - Copperhead Road

By Saby Reyes-Kulkarni, October 18, 2021

After working within a standard country template for his first two albums, Steve Earle embraced hard rock with his third effort Copperhead Road, kicking off the doggedly nonconformist streak that’s defined his career ever since.

Shania Twain - Come On Over - Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSShania Twain - Come On Over

By Helen M Jerome, October 4, 2021

Man, it feels like a landmark.

Album - Drive By Truckers - Southern Rock Opera
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSDrive-By Truckers - Southern Rock Opera

By Hal Horowitz, September 25, 2021

There is never a moment throughout this saga when the playing, singing and vocals feel anything less than earthy, honest and pure. That’s quite an accomplishment for this expansive hour and a half listen, particularly one where lyrics are so crucial to its enjoyment.

Dolly Parton - Coat of Many Colors Album Review
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSDolly Parton - Coat of Many Colors

By Marcus K. Dowling, September 25, 2021

It's on 1971’s Coat Of Many Colors that Dolly Parton's Hall of Fame level talent as a creator and wordsmith emerged. As for the rest of the album, it’s a fascinating journey into how the foundations of her professional streak took shape.

Album - Deana Carter - Did I Shave My Legs For This?
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSDeana Carter - Did I Shave My Legs For This?

By Jof Owen, September 13, 2021

Did I Shave My Legs For This? caught the fever that was tearing through country music in the 90s, as a new army of women spiced up tradition with a reinvigorated tone of feisty independence.

Album Cover - Garth Brooks - Ropin' The Wind
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSGarth Brooks - Ropin' the Wind

By Alison Bonaguro, September 9, 2021

It’s been exactly 30 years since Brooks released his pivotal third album and changed the way people heard country music. We take a look back on its legacy.

Load More