Nancy Sinatra & Lee Hazlewood - Nancy & Lee
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSNancy Sinatra & Lee Hazlewood - Nancy & Lee

By Carena Liptak, May 19, 2022

The songs on Nancy & Lee helped both artists to shape their sounds at pivotal moments in their lives; creating a dark, complex and ethereal synergy that would inform generations that followed.

Holler Country Music
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSThe Black Crowes - The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion

By Saby Reyes-Kulkarni, May 10, 2022

Though Southern Harmony was followed by The Black Crowes’ slow descent from mainstream visibility, it marked the beginning of a vibrant creative streak that still resounds beautifully this many years later.

Bobbie Gentry - Fancy Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSBobbie Gentry - Fancy

By Soda Canter, May 4, 2022

Put this record on and turn the volume up, this is our one chance to not let Gentry down any further.

Willie Nelson - Always On My Mind Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSWillie Nelson - Always On My Mind

By Mark Hagen, February 23, 2022

As with all of Willie’s albums, there are things to love here. It also remains a fascinating look at an artist trying to work out his place in the world.

Holler Country Music
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSGram Parsons - Grievous Angel

By Hal Horowitz, January 10, 2022

Grievous Angel is an extraordinary entry in the limited Gram Parsons catalog; a true milestone of Americana - or, more aptly, cosmic American music.

Holler Country Music
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSTaylor Swift - Red

By Will Groff, November 8, 2021

As with so much of Swift’s output, Red can be remembered as it should be: truly, gloriously singular. Just don’t say it’s her best album.

Album - Sam Hunt - Montevallo
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSSam Hunt - Montevallo

By Jason Scott, October 25, 2021

It’s certainly not your momma’s taste of traditional country, yet Montevallo's honoring of storytelling roots makes it one of the great modern country classics.

Album - Steve Earle - Copperhead Road
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSSteve Earle - Copperhead Road

By Saby Reyes-Kulkarni, October 18, 2021

After working within a standard country template for his first two albums, Steve Earle embraced hard rock with his third effort Copperhead Road, kicking off the doggedly nonconformist streak that’s defined his career ever since.

Shania Twain - Come On Over - Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSShania Twain - Come On Over

By Helen M Jerome, October 4, 2021

Man, it feels like a landmark.

Album - Drive By Truckers - Southern Rock Opera
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSDrive-By Truckers - Southern Rock Opera

By Hal Horowitz, September 25, 2021

There is never a moment throughout this saga when the playing, singing and vocals feel anything less than earthy, honest and pure. That’s quite an accomplishment for this expansive hour and a half listen, particularly one where lyrics are so crucial to its enjoyment.

Dolly Parton - Coat of Many Colors Album Review
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSDolly Parton - Coat of Many Colors

By Marcus K. Dowling, September 25, 2021

It's on 1971’s Coat Of Many Colors that Dolly Parton's Hall of Fame level talent as a creator and wordsmith emerged. As for the rest of the album, it’s a fascinating journey into how the foundations of her professional streak took shape.

Album - Deana Carter - Did I Shave My Legs For This?
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSDeana Carter - Did I Shave My Legs For This?

By Jof Owen, September 13, 2021

Did I Shave My Legs For This? caught the fever that was tearing through country music in the 90s, as a new army of women spiced up tradition with a reinvigorated tone of feisty independence.

Album Cover - Garth Brooks - Ropin' The Wind
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSGarth Brooks - Ropin' the Wind

By Alison Bonaguro, September 9, 2021

It’s been exactly 30 years since Brooks released his pivotal third album and changed the way people heard country music. We take a look back on its legacy.

Album - Pistol Annies - Hell on Heels
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSPistol Annies - Hell on Heels

By Helen M Jerome, September 1, 2021

To celebrate its 10-year "annieversary", we look back on the formation of the no-shit-taking trio, and the record's lasting effect on country music.

Dwight Yoakam - Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc., Etc. Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSDwight Yoakam - Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc., Etc.

By Hal Horowitz, August 19, 2021

It’s impossible to overstate the importance of this debut. Not only did it introduce Yoakam as a fledgling yet seasoned talent with a voice that comes along once in a generation, but it presented pure country, amplified and energized, to a new, younger audience.

Brooks & Dunn - Brand New Man Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSBrooks & Dunn - Brand New Man

By Jof Owen, August 13, 2021

30 years on and Brand New Man still sounds as sparkling and fresh as it did when it first came out, its influence echoing back out from contemporary artists Midland to Jon Pardi.

Eric Church - Chief - Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSEric Church - Chief

By Mark Hagen, July 26, 2021

Chief took you away from the world for three, four, five minutes and then dropped you back where you began - only now somehow changed, in touch with a feeling that you didn’t know you already had, in exactly the way that The Boss' own records do.

Kris Kristofferson - The Silver Tongued Devil and I Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSKris Kristofferson - The Silver Tongued Devil and I

By Paul Sexton, July 19, 2021

While far greater stardom and albums with bigger hits were to come, The Silver Tongued Devil and I was widely received as even better than Kristofferson's greatest hits of a debut.

Load More