Holler Country Music Ad
Shania Twain - Come On Over - Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSShania Twain - Come On Over

By Helen M Jerome, October 4, 2021

Man, it feels like a landmark.

Album - Drive By Truckers - Southern Rock Opera
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSDrive-By Truckers - Southern Rock Opera

By Hal Horowitz, September 25, 2021

There is never a moment throughout this saga when the playing, singing and vocals feel anything less than earthy, honest and pure. That’s quite an accomplishment for this expansive hour and a half listen, particularly one where lyrics are so crucial to its enjoyment.

Dolly Parton - Coat of Many Colors Album Review
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSDolly Parton - Coat of Many Colors

By Marcus K. Dowling, September 25, 2021

It's on 1971’s Coat Of Many Colors that Dolly Parton's Hall of Fame level talent as a creator and wordsmith emerged. As for the rest of the album, it’s a fascinating journey into how the foundations of her professional streak took shape.

Album - Deana Carter - Did I Shave My Legs For This?
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSDeana Carter - Did I Shave My Legs For This?

By Jof Owen, September 13, 2021

Did I Shave My Legs For This? caught the fever that was tearing through country music in the 90s, as a new army of women spiced up tradition with a reinvigorated tone of feisty independence.

Album Cover - Garth Brooks - Ropin' The Wind
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSGarth Brooks - Ropin' the Wind

By Alison Bonaguro, September 9, 2021

It’s been exactly 30 years since Brooks released his pivotal third album and changed the way people heard country music. We take a look back on its legacy.

Album - Pistol Annies - Hell on Heels
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSPistol Annies - Hell on Heels

By Helen M Jerome, September 1, 2021

The Pistol Annies shook things up when they burst onto the scene with their debut album Hell On Heels in 2011. To celebrate its 10-year "annieversary", we look back on the formation of the no-shit-taking trio, and the record's lasting effect on country music.

Dwight Yoakam - Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc., Etc. Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSDwight Yoakam - Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc., Etc.

By Hal Horowitz, August 19, 2021

It’s impossible to overstate the importance of this debut. Not only did it introduce Yoakam as a fledgling yet seasoned talent with a voice that comes along once in a generation, but it presented pure country, amplified and energized, to a new, younger audience.

Eric Church - Chief - Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSEric Church - Chief

By Mark Hagen, July 26, 2021

Chief took you away from the world for three, four, five minutes and then dropped you back where you began - only now somehow changed, in touch with a feeling that you didn’t know you already had, in exactly the way that The Boss' own records do.

Kris Kristofferson - The Silver Tongued Devil and I Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSKris Kristofferson - The Silver Tongued Devil and I

By Paul Sexton, July 19, 2021

While far greater stardom and albums with bigger hits were to come, The Silver Tongued Devil and I was widely received as even better than Kristofferson's greatest hits of a debut.

LeAnn Rimes - Blue Album Cover
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSLeAnn Rimes - Blue

By Paul Sexton, July 13, 2021

We take a look back at the iconic album that shot a 13-year-old LeAnn Rimes to global fame.

Album Cover: The Allman Brothers Band - At Fillmore East
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSThe Allman Brothers Band - At Fillmore East

By Hal Horowitz, June 30, 2021

We reflect on this iconic album for its 50th anniversary, taking a look back at the story of the band's live recording at New York City's iconic Fillmore East.

Holler Country Music
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSRandy Travis - The Storms of Life

By Jessica Nicholson, June 7, 2021

Travis’ debut would prove to have an indelible influence on those who quickly followed him and contemporary artists who fly their own flag today.

Album - Emmylou Harris - Wrecking Ball
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSEmmylou Harris - Wrecking Ball

By Helen M Jerome, May 10, 2021

When a 48-year-old Harris stepped through the doors of producer Daniel Lanois’ New Orleans home to make her 18th studio album, little did we know that she’d emerge with this haunting masterpiece.

Holler Country Music
reviews

COUNTRY CLASSICSThe Classics: Waylon Jennings - Honky Tonk Heroes

By Jof Owen, December 18, 2020

Honky Tonk Heroes ended up being the first real outlaw-country record, and to many it remains Waylon Jennings' finest moment.