Holler Country Music

CMT Music Awards 2022 Announces Nominations

March 16, 2022 2:15 pm GMT
Last Edited May 30, 2023 2:22 pm GMT

email logo
link icon

Link copied

Content Sponsor

CMT has unveiled its nominations for the 2022 CMT Music Awards, airing Monday 11th April on CBS.

There are 10 first-time nominees - a sign CMT are attempting to spotlight the next generation of rising stars.

Kane Brown leads the star-studded list with four nominations, including Video of the Year, Male Video of the Year and CMT Performance of the Year.

Alongside him, co-host Kelsea Ballerini, Mickey Guyton and first-time nominees BRELAND and Cody Johnson follow with three nominations apiece.

CMT’s reigning all-time leader Carrie Underwood is set to compete again for the night’s highly coveted Video of the Year award for her duet with Jason Aldean, alongside female powerhouses Brandi Carlile, Kacey Musgraves, Maren Morris, Miranda Lambert and Taylor Swift, with her Chris Stapleton duet 'I Bet You Think About Me'.

They are up against videos from Luke Combs, Cole Swindell & Lainey Wilson and Kelsea Ballerini & Kenny Chesney.

New this year, CMT Digital-First Performance of the Year has been added to the category line-up, recognizing artist performances created for CMT Digital throughout the year; Brittney SpencerCarly PearceCody Johnson, Jon Pardi, Josh Turner and Lainey Wilson will compete for the inaugural award.

Across all categories, CMT is recognizing 10 first-time nominees: BRELAND, Brittney Spencer, Cody Johnson, Caitlyn Smith, Elvie Shane, MacKenzie Porter, Priscilla Block, and Tenille Arts. Both H.E.R. and Paul Klein of LANY are also nominated for the first time, as the show continues to celebrate a wide range of talent from outside musical genres; Nelly and Gladys Knight are also amongst this year's nominees.

Continuing CMT’s history of recognizing the next wave of rising stars, this year’s Breakthrough Video of the Year nominees include: BRELAND, Caitlyn Smith feat. Old Dominion, Elvie Shane, Parker McCollum, Priscilla Block and Tenille Arts.

The list of performers for this year's ceremony just keeps growing. Co-host Kelsea Ballerini, the most nominated Kane Brown, CMA Entertainer of the Year Luke Combs, Cody Johnson, ACM Entertainer of the Year Miranda Lambert, Old Dominion, Little Big Town, Carly Pearce and Keith Urban are all set to perform at this year's event.

Plus Carrie Underwood, who will deliver a very special, all-new performance from the Resorts World Theatre, home of her ongoing show REFLECTION: The Las Vegas Residency.

The show will also include special duets from Maren Morris with Ryan Hurd and Cole Swindell with Lainey Wilson, as well as Mickey Guyton and Black Pumas teaming up for a world premiere collaboration.

If that wasn't enough - Jason Aldean and Bryan Adams, Jimmie Allen, Monica and Little Big Town, Walker Hayes and Thomas Rhett are all set to perform exclusive, one night only duets live for what's set to be one special night.

Just to top it off, the five-time GRAMMY®-winning iconic duo The Judds will make a triumphant return to the stage to perform their international hit and chart-topping single, 'Love Can Build A Bridge' with the iconic landmark of Nashville’s Country Music Hall of Fame as their background, a nod to the duo’s upcoming 2022 induction.

Country music superstar Kacey Musgraves will introduce the legendary duo’s performance and acknowledge the lasting influence that The Judds’ music has had on her career.

For the full list of nominees, see below:

The final six Video of the Year nominees are:

Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood - 'If I Didn’t Love You'

Kane Brown - 'One Mississippi'

Kelsea Ballerini feat.Kenny Chesney - ‘Half of my hometown'

Luke Combs - 'Forever After All'

Cody Johnson - 'Til You Can’t'

Cole Swindell & Lainey Wilson - 'Never Say Never'

Female Video Of The Year

Brandi Carlile – ‘Right On Time’

Gabby Barrett – ‘Footprints On The Moon’

Kacey Musgraves – ‘justified’

Maren Morris – ‘Circles Around This Town’

Mickey Guyton – ‘Remember Her Name’

Miranda Lambert – ‘If I Was A Cowboy’

Tenille Arts – ‘Back Then, Right Now’

Male Video Of The Year

Cody Johnson – ‘Til You Can't’

Eric Church – ‘Heart On Fire’

Kane Brown – ‘One Mississippi’

Luke Bryan - ‘Waves’

Luke Combs - ‘Forever After All’

Thomas Rhett - ‘Country Again’

Walker Hayes - ‘Fancy Like’

Group/Duo Video Of The Year

Brothers Osborne - ‘I'm Not For Everyone’

Dan + Shay - ‘Steal My Love’

Maddie & Tae - ‘Woman You Got’

Old Dominion - ‘I Was On a Boat That Day’

Parmalee - ‘Take My Name’

Zac Brown Band - ‘Same Boat’

Breakthrough Video Of The Year

BRELAND - ‘Cross Country’

Caitlyn Smith feat. Old Dominion - ‘I Can't’

Elvie Shane - ‘My Boy’

Parker McCollum - ‘To Be Loved By You’

Priscilla Block - ‘Just About Over You’

Tenille Arts - ‘Back Then, Right Now’

Collaborative Video Of The Year

Carly Pearce & Ashley McBryde - ‘Never Wanted To Be That Girl’

Dustin Lynch feat. MacKenzie Porter - ‘Thinking 'Bout You’

Nelly & Florida Georgia Line - ‘Lil Bit’

Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood - ‘If I Didn't Love You’

Jimmie Allen & Brad Paisley - ‘Freedom Was A Highway’

Jordan Davis feat. Luke Bryan - ‘Buy Dirt’

Kelsea Ballerini feat. Kenny Chesney - ‘half of my hometown’

On the morning of Monday, April 11th, these six will be narrowed down to top three, with voting continuing through the live show, leading up to the big reveal at the end of the night.

CMT Performance Of The Year

Brothers Osborne - ‘Muskrat Greene/Dead Man's Curve Medley (from CMT Campfire Sessions)’

George Strait - ‘Is Anybody Goin' to San Antone (from CMT GIANTS: Charley Pride)’

H.E.R. feat. Chris Stapleton - ‘Hold On (from 2021 CMT Music Awards)’

Kane Brown - ‘Three Wooden Crosses (from 2021 CMT Artists of the Year)’

Kelsea Ballerini feat. Paul Klein of LANY - ‘I Quit Drinking (from 2021 CMT Music Awards)’

Mickey Guyton feat. Gladys Knight & BRELAND - ‘Friendship Train (from 2021 CMT Music Awards)’

Nelly feat. Kane Brown, Blanco Brown & BRELAND - ‘Ride Wit Me (from CMT Crossroads: Nelly & Friends)

CMT Digital First Performance Of The Year

Brittney Spencer - ‘Sober & Skinny’ (from CMT Campfire Sessions)

Carly Pearce - ‘Dear Miss Loretta’ (from CMT: 60 Songs)

Cody Johnson - ‘Dear Rodeo’ (from CMT Campfire Sessions)

Jon Pardi - ‘On The Other Hand / Forever and Ever, Amen’ (in honor of 2021 CMT Artist of a Lifetime Randy Travis)

Josh Turner LIVE (from CMT KickBack)

Lainey Wilson - ‘Things A Man Oughta Know’ (from the CMT Studio)

CMT has also announced an all-new, socially-voted category honoring superstar hitmakers who have cemented their status in music history with classic songs that withstood the test of time, and have found themselves the catalyst of recent social trends as their hits still resonate with fans old and new in the Trending Comeback Song of the Year category.

The following seven superstar acts are nominated:

Alan Jackson - 'Freight Train'

Brooks & Dunn - 'Neon Moon'

Dolly Parton - '9 to 5'

Reba - 'I'm A Survivor'

Sara Evans - 'Suds in the Bucket'

Shania Twain - 'Man! I Feel Like A Woman!'

Taylor Swift - 'Love Story'

For more on the CMT Music Awards, see below:

Written by Ross Jones
Content Sponsor
Holler Country Music

Favorite Performances From The 2021 CMT Music Awards

CMT Awards 2022 - Miranda Lambert

CMT Awards 2022 Winners & Performances

Artist - Shania Twain 4

2023 CMT Awards Unveils Full Presenter Line-Up

Artist - Lainey Wilson 6

Lainey Wilson Nominated For Four 2023 CMT Awards