Artist - Chris Stapleton Live 12

Chris Stapleton, Morgan Wallen, HARDY And More Win At 2023 AIMP Awards

April 12, 2023 11:50 am GMT
Last Edited June 13, 2023 9:20 am GMT

email logo
link icon

Link copied

Content Sponsor

The 2023 Association for Independent Music Publishers once again honoured a star-studded array of artists and songwriters during a momentous ceremony at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium.

The event was hosted by Bob DiPiero and Craig Wiseman, two songwriting greats with a plethora of chart-topping anthems between them.

The AIMP Awards recognise the best independent songwriters and publishers in country music from the past year.

Country-rock hitmaker HARDY took home two awards for Artist-Writer of the Year and Songwriter of the Year, while his good buddy and regular co-writer, Ernest, triumphed in the hotly contested Rising Artist-Writer of the Year category.

Chris Stapleton, Ashley Gorley and Chris DuBois took the Song of the Year title for their infectious track, ‘You Should Probably Leave’, which appears on Stapleton's 2020 album, Starting Over.

Whenever accolades are being won, Morgan Wallen is never usually too far from the action, and the 2023 AIMP Awards were no different.

The Sneedville megastar's ‘Wasted On You’, which was co-written by Ernest, Josh Thompson and Charlie Handsome, was championed as The Most Streamed Country Song of the Year.

Wallen's introspective, faith-filled ballad, ‘Don't Think Jesus’, which was written by Mark Holman, Jessi Alexander and Chase McGill, was jointly awarded The Publisher Pick of the Year alongside ‘Reverse Cowgirl’.

The latter was penned by Jared Scott, Joe Fox and Zack Dyer, and featured on Jon Pardi's 2022 album, Mr. Saturday Night.

reviews ALBUM REVIEW • Jon Pardi - Mr Saturday Night

Mr Saturday Night is the sort of heartbreak album that gives the listener both a chance to cry their eyes out and hit the dance floor for some much-needed boot-scootin’.

Round Hill Music won Publisher of the Year, while Texas native, Ryan Beaver, who is part of the SMACKSongs roster, was crowned 2023 Rising Songwriter of the Year.

Attendees at the 2023 AIMP Awards in Nashville were also able to witness an incredible range of performances from the likes of Ernest, who performed a stripped back rendition of Morgan Wallen's ‘You Proof’, along with HARDY, Ashley Cooke, Jon Pardi, Jordan Davis, Corey Kent, Tenille Arts, Jackson Dean and more.

Written by Maxim Mower
Content Sponsor
Artist - Chris Stapleton 2

Chris Stapleton's ‘Tennessee Whiskey’ Is Certified Fourteen-Times Platinum

Artist - HARDY Live 9

HARDY Shares New Acoustic Video For ‘happy’

Artist - HARDY and Lainey Wilson 2

HARDY And Lainey Wilson Receive 2023 CMT Award for Collaborative Video of the Year for ‘Wait in the Truck’

Artist - Morgan Wallen 50

Morgan Wallen ‘One Night At A Time’ Concert Tour Setlist