AMA Award Winner: International Song of the Year - The Secret Sisters

The Secret Sisters Win AMA UK Award for International Song of the Year

January 28, 2021 8:44 pm GMT
Last Edited November 19, 2023 3:11 pm GMT

email logo
link icon

Link copied

Content Sponsor

The Secret Sisters have won the AMA-UK Award for International Song of the Year, for their song 'Hand Over My Heart'.

Taken from their 2020 album Saturn Return, the duo pipped Charley Crockett, Lilly Hiatt and Austin Lucas to the award. It's the sister duo's first award win in their careers.

In an interview with Holler, the sisters explained how Brandi Carlile had such in an impact in the production of the record; "We were, and still kind of are, these timid Southern girls who come from conservative Christian backgrounds, but she pushes us.

I would have never shown my snot to someone until Brandi forced me to do that because she’s the most persuasive person in the world."

The UK Americana Awards show is showcasing performances throughout the evening from: American Aquarium, Courtney Marie Andrews, Emily Barker, Robbie Cavanagh, Elvis Costello, Charley Crockett, Ferris & Sylvester, Steve Earle, Mary Gauthier, Jason Isbell (and the 400 Unit), Austin Lucas, Demi Marriner, Lady Nade, Katie Pruitt, Robert Vincent, Lucinda Williams and Gillian Welch & David Rawlings.

As previously announced, the AMA-UK Board presented awards to: Elvis Costello, Mavis Staples, Christine McVie, and Steve Earle for Lifetime Achievement and Trailblazer Awards.

The Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award to Robbie Cavannagh and Demi Marriner and The Grassroots Award to Music Venue Trust - Mark Davyd and Beverly Whitrick.

The late John Prine was honoured with the specially created Songwriter Legacy Award 2021, in celebration of the legendary US singer-songwriter’s life and work.

View below for the full and updated list of awards and nominees.

Nominations for the member-voted Awards:

UK Song of the Year

I Should Be On A Train by Ferris and Sylvester (Written by Issy Ferris and Archie Sylvester

Ain’t One Thing by Lady Nade (Written by Lady Nade )

Thin (I Used To Be Bullet Proof) by Our Man In The Field (Written by Alexander Ellis)

I Don't Wanna Lie by Yola (Written by Yola, Dan Auerbach, Bobby Wood) (WINNER)

UK Album of the Year

A Dark Murmuration of Words by Emily Barker (produced by Greg Freeman)

Song For Our Daughter by Laura Marling (Produced by Ethan Johns, Laura Marling)

In This Town You're Owned by Robert Vincent (Produced by Ethan Johns)


Hannah White and The Nordic Connections by Hannah White (Produced by Hannah White and The Nordic Connections)

UK Artist of the Year

Emily Barker

Laura Marling

Robert Vincent (WINNER)


UK Instrumentalist of the Year

Anna Corcoran (WINNER)

Lukas Drinkwater

Martin Harley

Michele Stodart

International Song of the Year

Welcome to Hard Times by Charley Crockett (Written by Charley Crockett)

Brightest Star by Lilly Hiatt (Written by Lilly Hiatt)

Already Dead by Austin Lucas (Written by Austin Lucas)

Hand Over My Heart by The Secret Sisters (Written by Elizabeth Rogers, Lydia Lane Rogers) (WINNER)

International Album of the Year

Lamentations by American Aquarium (Produced by Shooter Jennings)

Old Flowers by Courtney Marie Andrews (Produced by Andrew Sarlo) (WINNER)

That’s How Rumors Get Started by Margo Price (Produced by Sturgill Simpson with co-production by David R. Ferguson and Margo Price)

Expectations by Katie Pruitt (Produced by Michael Robinson, Katie Pruitt)

International Artist of the Year

Courtney Marie Andrews (WINNER)

Jason Isbell

Gillian Welch and David Rawlings

Lucinda Williams

For more on AMA UK Awards, see below:

Written by Ciara Bains
Content Sponsor
Holler Country Music

The Secret Sisters - Saturn Return

Holler Country Music

The Secret Sisters Share Acoustic Performance of 'Cabin'

Artist - The Secret Sisters

Americanafest UK Day 2

Album – Passage Du Desir – Johnny Blue Skies

'Scooter Blues' by Johnny Blue Skies – Lyrics & Meaning