Holler Country Music

Joshua Hedley Announces New Album Neon Blue

February 4, 2022 3:45 pm GMT
Last Edited May 30, 2023 9:21 am GMT

email logo
link icon

Link copied

Joshua Hedley will release his anticipated new album Neon Blue on April 22nd, 2022 via New West Records.

Neon Blue is the follow up to his critically acclaimed 2018 debut Mr. Jukebox, which was released by Jack White’s Third Man Records.

Hedley’s breakout debut showcased his deep knowledge of country music history, in particular the beery ballads of the 1950s and ‘60s.

His mentors were George Jones, Ray Price, and Glen Campbell, but his most remarkable accomplishment was putting his own spin on their style.

Neon Blue, on the other hand, examines a very different, often forsaken era: the early 1990s.

“The last bastion of country music,” says Hedley, “was the early 1990s, roughly 1989 through 1996. You could turn on the radio and immediately know you’re hearing a country song. You could still hear steel guitar and fiddle.

But there was a hard fork around 1996 or ‘97, when country veered off into pop territory. Neon Blue asks, What if that fork never happened? What if country kept on sounding like country?”

The era may have been dismissed by traditionalists at the time as slick or overproduced, but Hedley finds something exciting in that sound.

Neon Blue plays up the excitement of bigger-than-life choruses, the relatable emotions of those sad-eyed ballads, and the inventiveness of the lively production. Hedley says, “The sound is modern, but it’s still discernibly country.”

The songs on Neon Blue would sound right at home on a playlist between Garth Brooks’ 'Friends in Low Places' and Alan Jackson’s 'Chattahoochie', and at times you can see a thousand lighters held high during an encore.

Hedley has been a presence in Nashville for nearly twenty years, although you have to know where to find him. You have to brave the tourists on Broadway downtown, bypass the three-story bars blasting Journey, and make your way to Robert’s Western World, a time-capsule honkytonk from a different era.

"It’s the last holdout. It’s exactly the same now as it was when I started playing there seventeen years ago. It never doesn’t feel like home because it never doesn’t feel familiar".

He’s got tenure at Robert’s, playing hours long sets full of his own songs and country classics, and he hates to miss a show.

In 2018, after he opened for Jack White at Bridgestone Arena (by far the largest venue in town), he was back at Robert’s right across the street playing to a boot-scooting audience the very next night.

In honor of this truly unique oasis, an extremely limited, autographed version of the vinyl edition will be pressed on "Robert’s Fried Bologna" color vinyl in tribute to the late night sandwich favorite being served up to Robert’s patrons nightly.

Joshua Hedley’s Neon Blue will be available across digital platforms, on compact disc, and standard black vinyl.

An extremely limited to 150 "Robert’s Fried Bologna" color vinyl edition autographed by Joshua Hedley will be available at Independent Retailers across Tennessee.

A limited "Coke Bottle Clear" color vinyl edition, as well as an autographed compact disc edition, will be available at Independent Retailers worldwide.

Limited, signed compact discs and a limited, transparent blue color vinyl edition autographed by Joshua Hedley are available for pre-order from New West.

The full track listing for 'Neon Blue' is below:

1. Broke Again

2. Country & Western

3. Old Heartbroke Blues

4. The Last Thing In The World

5. Down To My Last Lie

6. Free (One Heart)

7. Neon Blue

8. Bury Me With My Boots On

9. Found In A Bar

10. Let’s Make A Memory

11. Wonder If You Wonder

12. River In The Rain

For more on Joshua Hedley, see below:

Written by Ross Jones
Author - undefined
Joshua Hedley