Jason Isbell in a black suit

Jason Isbell, Allison Russell and More Honoured at 2024 UK Americana Music Awards

January 26, 2024 12:30 pm GMT

email logo
link icon

Link copied

Content Sponsor

An array of leading industry figures and pioneering artists gathered on Thursday evening (January 25th) to celebrate this year's cream of the crop in the burgeoning Americana scene.

Jason Isbell delivered a momentous performance, as well as taking the stage to accept the prestigious International Trailblazer Award, which was presented by Nick Hornby.

Upon accepting the gong, the ‘Cover Me Up’ songsmith paid tribute to his loyal fanbase across The Pond, “I’m honored to receive the Trailblazer Award. I’ve always been surprised by the warm welcome my work has received in the UK, and I’m proud to know that the stories I tell might serve as inspiration for younger artists”.

The big winners of the night were Michele Stodart and Allison Russell, with the latter taking home the coveted accolades for International Album of the Year and International Artist of the Year.

Stodart walked away with the UK equivalents, taking the UK Artist of the Year title, as well as earning the UK Album of the Year award for her lauded Invitation project.

2024 UK Song of the Year went to Lauren Housley & The Northern Cowboys’ ‘High Time’, while Margo Price and Sharon van Etten picked up the International Song of the Year award for ‘Radio’.

Elsewhere during the ceremony, Jason Isbell presented Holly Carter with the trophy for UK Instrumentalist of the Year, a particularly special moment, given the fact that Carter is one of the UK's only female professional pedal steel players.

Elles Bailey beat out strong competition from Far From Saints, Ferris & Sylvester, Frank Turner & The Sleeping Souls, Lauren Housley & The Northern Cowboys and The Hanging Stars to earn the title of UK Live Act of the Year - an award she also won in 2023.

In addition, renowned US singer-songwriter, Dan Penn, received the International Lifetime Achievement; Jonny Morgan earned the Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award; former AMA-UK CEO, Stevie Smith, picked up the Grass Roots Award; and Billy Bragg was given the gong for Best-Selling Americana Album by a UK Artist.

For the full list of 2024 Americana Music Awards winners, see below:

UK Album of the Year

Far From Saints – Far From Saints

Michele Stodart – Invitation (WINNER)

Roseanne Reid – Lawside 

Ward Thomas – Music In The Madness

International Album of the Year

Allison Russell – The Returner (WINNER)

Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors – Strangers No More

Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit – Weathervanes

Margo Cilker – Valley of Heart’s Delight

UK Song of the Year

Hannah White – “Chains of Ours”

Kirsten Adamson – “My Father’s Songs”

Lauren Housley & The Northern Cowboys – “High Time” (WINNER)

St Catherine’s Child – “Every Generation”

International Song of the Year

Chris Stapleton – “White Horse”

Maren Morris – “The Tree”

Margo Price feat. Sharon van Etten– “Radio” (WINNER)

Noah Kahan – “Stick Season”

UK Artist of the Year

Cardinal Black

Elles Bailey

Hannah White

Michele Stodart (WINNER)

International Artist of the Year

Allison Russell (WINNER)

Jason Isbell

Lucinda Williams

War & Treaty

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

Holly Carter (WINNER)

Joe Coombs

Joe Harvey White

Keiron Marshall

UK Live Act of the Year

Elles Bailey (WINNER)

Far From Saints

Ferris & Sylvester

Frank Turner & The Sleeping Souls

Lauren Housley & The Northern Cowboys

The Hanging Stars

Special Awards

International Lifetime Achievement Award - Dan Penn

International Trailblazer Award - Jason Isbell

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award - Jonny Morgan

Grass Roots Award - Stevie Smith

Best-Selling Americana Album by a UK artist - Billy Bragg (The Roaring Forty)

Written by Maxim Mower
Content Sponsor
Holler's New & Upcoming Country Albums 2023: Release Dates Graphic

New & Upcoming Country Albums In 2024: Release Dates

Artist - Hailey Whitters Live

Hailey Whitters Covers Tyler Childers’ ‘Feathered Indians’

Artist - HARDY 6

HARDY Hints at New Songs; “More Are Coming”

Charles Wesley Godwin at the Opry

Charles Wesley Godwin, Wyatt Flores, 49 Winchester and More Announced as Opry NextStage Class of 2024