AMA Award Winner: International Artist of the Year - Courtney Marie Andrews

Courtney Marie Andrews Wins AMA UK Award for International Artist of the Year

January 28, 2021 9:32 pm GMT
Last Edited May 15, 2023 4:28 pm GMT

email logo
link icon

Link copied

Content Sponsor

Courtney Marie Andrews has won her second award of the night at the AMA-UK Awards - picking up the coveted International Artist of the Year Award.

The Arizona-native, having already won International Album of the Year for her 2020 record Old Flowers, has sealed a triumphant victory at the night's awards, pipping Americana heavyweights Jason Isbell, Gillian Welch and David Rawlings and Lucinda Williams to the post.

Watch the video for her single 'It Must Be Someone Else's Fault' below.

The UK Americana Awards show is showcasing performances throughout the evening from: American Aquarium, Courtney Marie Andrews, Emily Barker, Robbie Cavanagh, Elvis Costello, Charley Crockett, Ferris & Sylvester, Steve Earle, Mary Gauthier, Jason Isbell (and the 400 Unit), Austin Lucas, Demi Marriner, Lady Nade, Katie Pruitt, Robert Vincent, Lucinda Williams and Gillian Welch & David Rawlings.

As previously announced, the AMA-UK Board presented awards to: Elvis Costello, Mavis Staples, Christine McVie, and Steve Earle for Lifetime Achievement and Trailblazer Awards.

The Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award to Robbie Cavannagh and Demi Marriner and The Grassroots Award to Music Venue Trust - Mark Davyd and Beverly Whitrick.

The late John Prine was honoured with the specially created Songwriter Legacy Award 2021, in celebration of the legendary US singer-songwriter’s life and work.

View below for the full and updated list of awards and nominees.

Nominations for the member-voted Awards:

UK Song of the Year

I Should Be On A Train by Ferris and Sylvester (Written by Issy Ferris and Archie Sylvester

Ain’t One Thing by Lady Nade (Written by Lady Nade )

Thin (I Used To Be Bullet Proof) by Our Man In The Field (Written by Alexander Ellis)

I Don't Wanna Lie by Yola (Written by Yola, Dan Auerbach, Bobby Wood) (WINNER)

UK Album of the Year

A Dark Murmuration of Words by Emily Barker (produced by Greg Freeman)

Song For Our Daughter by Laura Marling (Produced by Ethan Johns, Laura Marling)

In This Town You're Owned by Robert Vincent (Produced by Ethan Johns) (WINNER)

Hannah White and The Nordic Connections by Hannah White (Produced by Hannah White and The Nordic Connections)

UK Artist of the Year

Emily Barker

Laura Marling

Robert Vincent (WINNER)


UK Instrumentalist of the Year

Anna Corcoran (WINNER)

Lukas Drinkwater

Martin Harley

Michele Stodart

International Song of the Year

Welcome to Hard Times by Charley Crockett (Written by Charley Crockett)

Brightest Star by Lilly Hiatt (Written by Lilly Hiatt)

Already Dead by Austin Lucas (Written by Austin Lucas)

Hand Over My Heart by The Secret Sisters (Written by Elizabeth Rogers, Lydia Lane Rogers) (WINNER)

International Album of the Year

Lamentations by American Aquarium (Produced by Shooter Jennings)

Old Flowers by Courtney Marie Andrews (Produced by Andrew Sarlo) (WINNER)

That’s How Rumors Get Started by Margo Price (Produced by Sturgill Simpson with co-production by David R. Ferguson and Margo Price)

Expectations by Katie Pruitt (Produced by Michael Robinson, Katie Pruitt)

International Artist of the Year

Courtney Marie Andrews (WINNER)

Jason Isbell

Gillian Welch and David Rawlings

Lucinda Williams

For more on AMA UK Awards, see below:

Written by Ciara Bains
Content Sponsor
Holler Country Music

Courtney Marie Andrews - Old Flowers

Holler Country Music

Courtney Marie Andrews - Loose Future

Holler Country Music

INTERVIEWThe Songs That Changed My Life: Courtney Marie Andrews

Artist - Cody Johnson Live 2

Cody Johnson to Take the 'American Idol' Stage During Live Season Finale