Artwork for Taylor Swift's 2024 album, The Tortured Poets Department: The Anthology.

Taylor Swift - ‘The Tortured Poets Department’: New Album 2024 Release Date and Tracklist

February 5, 2024 10:42 am GMT
Last Edited April 19, 2024 11:59 am GMT

email logo
link icon

Link copied

Content Sponsor


Release Date: April 19th 2024

Title: The Tortured Poets Department

Expected Tracklist:

1. Fortnight (feat. Post Malone)

2. The Tortured Poets Department

3. My Boy Only Breaks His Favorite Toys

4. Down Bad

5. So Long, London

6. But Daddy I Love Him

7. Fresh Out the Slammer

8. Florida!!! (feat. Florence + The Machine)

9. Guilty as Sin?

10. Who's Afraid of Little Old Me?

11. I Can Fix Him (No Really I Can)

12. loml

13. I Can Do It With a Broken Heart

14. The Smallest Man Who Ever Lived

15. The Alchemy

16. Clara Bow

The Tortured Poets Department Anthology extra tracks

17. The Black Dog

18. imgonnagetyouback

19. The Albatross

20. Chloe or Sam or Sophia or Marcus

21. How Did It End?

22. So High School

23. I Hate It Here

24. thanK you aIMee

25. I Look in People’s Windows

26. The Prophecy

27. Cassandra

28. Peter

29. The Bolter

30. Robin

31.The Manuscript

During her 2024 Grammy acceptance speech for Best Album, Taylor Swift took the opportunity to announce her brand new project, The Tortured Poets Department.

The record, which is Taylor's first completely new body of work since 2022's Midnights, was released on April 19th 2024.

<p>Note from Taylor Swift about her 2024 album</p>

"An anthology of new works that reflect events, opinions and sentiments from a fleeting and fatalistic moment in time - one that was both sensational and sorrowful in equal measure," she wrote on her socials as the album was released. "This period of the author’s life is now over, the chapter closed and boarded up. There is nothing to avenge, no scores to settle once wounds have healed. And upon further reflection, a good number of them turned out to be self-inflicted. This writer is of the firm belief that our tears become holy in the form of ink on a page. Once we have spoken our saddest story, we can be free of it."

"And then all that’s left behind is the tortured poetry."

Releasing The Tortured Poets Department on April 19th at midnight CT she then surprised fans by releasing a further 15 songs for The Tortured Poets Department: Anthology at 2am CT, which included the previously announced bonus tracks 'The Bolter,' 'The Manuscript,' 'The Albatross' and The Black Dog' along with 11 other songs.

"It’s a 2am surprise," she wrote in a post on her socials. "The Tortured Poets Department is a secret DOUBLE album. ✌️ I’d written so much tortured poetry in the past 2 years and wanted to share it all with you, so here’s the second installment of TTPD: The Anthology. 15 extra songs. And now the story isn’t mine anymore… it’s all yours. 🤍"

The album features high-profile appearances from Post Malone and Florence + The Machine.

During her momentous Grammy speech on Sunday, January 4, Taylor explained that the project serves as a token of her gratitude to her listeners, “I want to say thank you to the fans by telling you a secret that I've been keeping from you for the last two years, which is that my brand new album comes out April 19th”.

Amidst a deafening sea of cheers and screams, Taylor shared, “It's called ‘The Tortured Poets Department’. I'm gonna go and post the cover right now back-stage. Thank you, I love you!”

She followed it by posting the atmospheric black and white album artwork artwork and a cryptic note.

The latter reads:

And so I enter into evidence

My tarnished coat of arms

My muses, acquired like bruises

My talismans and charms

The tick, tick, tick of love bombs

My veins of pitch black ink

All's fair in love and poetry...

Sincerely, The Chairman of The Tortured Poets Department

Although the global megastar didn't release any entirely original projects in 2023, Taylor Swift ensured her fans’ playlists were kept well-stocked by dropping re-recorded versions of Speak Now and 1989, two of Taylor's most-loved albums.

Now that the album is out in the world it's time to begin unpacking all the lyrics, but with a whopping great 31 tracks to get through, it might take a little longer than usual.

It'll be fascinating to see whether Taylor performs any of the new songs as part of the ‘Surprise Songs’ segment of her 2024 Eras tour setlist now that the album has been released.

For more on Taylor Swift, see below:

Written by Maxim Mower
Content Sponsor
Holler Country Music

Taylor Swift Announces New Album The Tortured Poets Department for April 19

Artist - Noah Kahan 3

Noah Kahan Says Taylor Swift Has Brought a “New Generation to Folk”

Taylor Swift at Paycor Stadium - Cincinatti, Ohio on 30 June 2023 by Laura Ord

Taylor Swift is Named Time Magazine's 2023 Person of the Year

Artist - Taylor Swift 4

Taylor Swift Releases ‘You’re Losing Me (From The Vault)’ After Being Named Spotify's Top Global Artist