Album - Dolly Parton - Rockstar

Dolly Parton - Rockstar: New Album 2023 Release Date and Tracklist

March 29, 2023 3:14 pm GMT
Last Edited June 12, 2023 1:43 pm GMT

email logo
link icon

Link copied

Content Sponsor


Expected Release Date: November 17th 2023

Title: Rockstar

Expected Tracklist:

  • Rockstar (feat. Richie Sambora)
  • World on Fire
  • Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)
  • Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)
  • Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson and Howard Leese)
  • Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)
  • Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)
  • I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler and Warren Haynes)
  • What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks and Waddy Wachtel)
  • Purple Rain
  • Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)
  • I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
  • Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)
  • Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)
  • (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
  • Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)
  • Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)
  • Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)
  • Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
  • Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
  • We Are The Champions
  • Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
  • My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)
  • What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)
  • You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
  • Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
  • Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)
  • I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
  • Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
  • Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant, Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)

Although Dolly Parton's induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame drew some raised eyebrows, the Tennessee megastar is on a mission to show exactly why she was chosen as their 2022 inductee.

She may be known for country classics such as ‘9 to 5’, ‘Jolene’ and ‘Islands in the Stream’ with the late great Kenny Rogers, but Dolly Parton is now hard at work producing her first ever rock album.

The first single is due to be ‘World on Fire’. During a recent interview with Good Morning America, Dolly confirmed she'd be performing ‘World on Fire’ at May's 2023 Academy of Country Music Awards in Texas, which she'll be co-hosting with fellow country legend, Garth Brooks.

The new album will also feature ‘Rockin’’, which Dolly played during her Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction.

‘Rockin’’ is a playful tribute to the Rock ‘n’ Roll music Dolly loved as a child, and serves as a powerful mission statement for the new album (“I've been rockin’, rockin’, rockin’ since the day I was born / I'll be rockin’ ‘til the day I'm gone / I've still got Rock ‘n’ Roll down in my country soul / And I'll be rockin’ ‘til the cows come home”).

In a handful of recent interviews, Dolly Parton confirmed that the new record, which is set to be given the tongue-in-cheek title of ‘Rockstar’, will also feature a staggering roster of guest appearances.

Dolly has revealed that P!nk and Brandi Carlile feature on a cover of The Rolling Stones classic, ‘(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction’, while the likes of Ringo Starr, Elton John, Cher and Stevie Nicks have all been name-checked by the country icon when speaking about the upcoming album.

In addition, Dolly Parton has previously said that Paul McCartney, Steven Tyler, Nikki Sixx, Pat Benatar, Joan Jett, Mick Fleetwood, Rob Halford and John Fogerty have all contributed towards Rockstar.

Excitingly, Dolly Parton's goddaughter, Miley Cyrus, sings on the new project too. The two artists joined forces at Miley's New Year's Eve 2022 celebration to perform show-stopping renditions of ‘Wrecking Ball’ and ‘I Will Always Love You’.

It seems Dolly Parton isn't done and dusted with her new rock album just yet, as she said in a January 2023 interview with USA Today that she's keen to recruit Mick Jagger for the record, “I wanted a song for just me and Mick – ‘(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction’ – and Brandi and P!nk are now singing on it. I’m still waiting for Mick to come on back. He might come through. If not, I’ll kick his bony ass when I see him!”

For more on Dolly Parton, see below:

Written by Maxim Mower
Content Sponsor
Artist - Luke Combs 21

Luke Combs Performs Live Debut of Unreleased Song, ‘The Man He Sees In Me’, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Lauren Watkins

Lauren Watkins Drops Two New Tunes, 'Settling Things' and 'Burn The Bridge', From Her 'Heartbreak Supper Club Sessions'

Chris Stapleton & Ryan Gosling SNL

Chris Stapleton Stars in Hilarious Saturday Night Live ‘Get That Boy Back’ Skit with Ryan Gosling, Chloe Troast and More

Single - Parker McCollum - Burn It Down

The Official UK Radio Country Airplay Chart