Holler Country Music

Zach Bryan, Lainey Wilson and More Featured on Yellowstone Season 5 Soundtrack

By Maxim Mower

link icon

Link copied

Whenever the Dutton family return to our TV screens, we're generally guaranteed to be given two things - firstly, 2500 acres' worth of drama, and secondly, a new soundtrack featuring some of today's most exciting and relevant country songs. Season 5 has proved no different so far, with songs from Zach Bryan, Lainey Wilson, 49 Winchester and more all making their way onto Yellowstone's carefully curated soundtrack.

The latest season of the Paramount-produced Yellowstone aired on November 13, with new episodes being released each week. The Montana-based series explores the tangled web of power plays, family tensions and turf wars that all revolve around the fictional Dutton family.

The head of the empire, John Dutton, is played by Kevin Costner, while the latest season also saw an intriguing addition to the cast - 2022 CMA New Artist of the Year and Female Vocalist of the Year, Lainey Wilson.

Aside from playing Abby, Lainey's down-home anthem, ‘Smell Like Smoke’, was chosen for the Season 5 soundtrack. Lainey performed the song in Episode 3 of the new season, catching the attention of viewers - and, it seems, a particular cowboy in the crowd.

2023 Grammy nominee, Zach Bryan, has also continued his hot streak of appearances on the Yellowstone soundtrack. ‘Whiskey Fever’, one of the more uptempo, light-hearted offerings from Bryan's 2022 album, American Heartbreak, made its way into the opening episode of Season 5.

A number of Bryan's earlier songs have been chosen for previous seasons, such as ‘Flying or Crying’ and ‘Condemned’. Yellowstone's Music Supervisor, Andrea Von Forester, even put Bryan in touch with Dave Cobb in order to re-record ‘Condemned’ especially for the show, at a time when Bryan was still very much an up-and-coming artist.

The hit TV series continues to build a reputation as tastemakers for modern country, with its gritty, rustic and emotionally-charged mix of red dirt country, Americana and country rock. Yellowstone has supported a long list of rising stars across the genre, with Zach Bryan and Southern rockers Whiskey Myers both growing in prominence after receiving spots on the show's coveted soundtrack.

Also featured on the Season 5 soundtrack so far is 49 Winchester's ‘Last Call’, Hayes Carll's ‘Happy Hour’ and more. Last year, Yellowstone launched its first spin-off, 1883, featuring acting appearances from country stars such as Tim McGraw and Faith Hill.

Here's the full list of songs featured on the Yellowstone Season 5 soundtrack so far:

Episode 1 - One Hundred Years is Nothing

Robert Earl Keen - ‘Shades of Gray’

Dolly Parton - ‘Mule Skinner Blues (Blue Yodel No. 8)’

Zach Bryan - ‘Whiskey Fever’

Shane Smith and The Saints - ‘Fire in the Ocean’

Shane Smith and The Saints - ‘Alex’

Shane Smith and The Saints - ‘Dance the Night Away’

Hayes Carll - ‘Happy Hour’

Episode 2 - The Sting of Wisdom

Andy Ezrin and Chris Hajian - ‘Cosmopolitan’

Frederic Chopin - ‘Nocturne No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 9 No. 1’

Episode 3 - Tall Drink of Water

49 Winchester - ‘Last Call’

Vincent Neil Emerson - ‘Willie Nelson's Wall’

Lainey Wilson - ‘Smell Like Smoke’

Isaac Hoskins - ‘Off the Wagon’

Episode 4 - Horses in Heaven

Zach Bryan - ‘The Good I'll Do’

Lainey Wilson - ‘New Friends’

For more on Yellowstone, see below: