Album Review

Eddy Smith & The 507 - Right Up 'Til Now

Right Up ‘Til Now is a swaggering, spell-binding debut.

Eddy Smith & The 507 - Right Up 'Til Now Album Cover
October 6, 2023 9:59 am GMT

email logo
link icon

Link copied

Content Sponsor

Eddy Smith & The 507 - Right Up 'Til Now

Label: Self-Released

Release Date: September 29, 2023

Producers: Eddy Smith & Ashley Webb


1. The Good Times

2. The Ballad of Bobby Grey

3. Love Sick

4. Something For Free

5. Ticket Out Of Here

6. My Time Again

7. I Don't Remember Telling You I Loved You

8. Daze

9. Rainey Street

10. Fool

On Right Up ‘Til Now, Eddy Smith dips his brush into an eclectic range of palettes.

We get a sauntering blues-jazz blend with ‘The Ballad Of Bobby Grey’, swinging, toe-tapping soul on ‘Love Sick’ and the Eagles-inspired, country-leaning ‘Something For Free’. The album takes the listener on a vibrant voyage through virtually every sub-genre of the American songbook.

Smith’s distinctive rasp introduces an intensity that many can’t tap into. While some would be tempted to overuse this ace, Smith deftly slips it back up his sleeve when the song demands a more drawn-in, tender vocal, epitomised by ‘Ticket Out Of Here’ and unleashed once more on ‘My Time Again’.

While less-structured offerings, such as ‘The Good Times’, are certainly more evocative when performed live, Right Up ‘Til Now is nonetheless a swaggering, spell-binding debut from Eddy Smith & The 507.

7.5 / 10

Eddy Smith & The 507's 2023 album, Right Up 'Til Now, is out now.

Written by Maxim Mower
Content Sponsor
Album - Kelsey Waldon - There's Always A Song

Kelsey Waldon - There's Always a Song

Album - Brian Kelley - Tennessee Truth

Brian Kelley - Tennessee Truth

Angel White - GHOST OF THE WEST: VOLUME I Album Cover


Orville Peck - Stampede Album Cover

Orville Peck - Stampede Vol. 1