Kaitlin Butts at Americanafest 2023 by Laura Ord

Kaitlin Butts, Sterling Drake, Kelsey Waldon and More Honored at 2024 Ameripolitan Awards

February 19, 2024 10:09 pm GMT
Last Edited February 20, 2024 9:41 am GMT

email logo
link icon

Link copied

Content Sponsor

There are the CMAs, the ACMs and the CMTs, but there are few country music awards ceremonies quite like the Ameripolitan Awards.

The annual event celebrates the more niche side of the country genre, honoring the best of the best in Honky Tonk, Outlaw, Rockabilly and Western Swing.

Held at the Moody Theater in downtown Austin, TX on Sunday (Feb. 18), this year’s affair saw everyone from the longtime greats to the rising stars recognized for their contributions to the expansive genre.

For the title of Honky Tonk female artist, ‘Marfa Lights’ singer Kaitlin Butts took home the year’s title, while ‘Highway 200’ troubadour Sterling Drake secured the award for Honky Tonk male artist. Teddy & the Rough Riders were dubbed the best Honky Tonk group.

Western Swing’s female player of the year went to Brennen Leigh, the trilling voice behind last year’s ‘Mississippi Rendezvous.’ Kyle Eldridge was awarded the subgenre’s male artist as best Western Swing group went to the Carolyn Sills Combo.

Mozzy Dee and Les Greene were named the year’s best Rockabilly female and male performers, respectively, with Messer Chups taking home the ensemble award.

‘All By Myself’ star Kelsey Waldon was awarded the year’s Outlaw female accolade. Billy Don Burns snagged the counterpart honor with Reckless Kelly of ‘Wicked Twisted Road’ securing the group prize.

The title of Musician of the Year went to rock and roll pianist Jason D Williams.

Throughout the night, there were a number of tributes held, including a rendition of Charlie Robison’s 'My Hometown' in honor of the Texas-born singer-songwriter who passed away in 2023.

Several legacy awards were also granted to the likes of celebrated Western Swing artist Ray Benson, who received the Master Award recognition, as well as to original Texas Tornados members Augie Myers and Flaco Jimenez, who were awarded the Founder of the Sound award.

For a full list of 2024 Ameripolitan winners, see below:

Honky Tonk Female

  • Cristina Vane
  • Emily Nenni
  • Hannah Juanita
  • Kaitlin Butts – WINNER

Honky Tonk Male

  • Dylan Earl
  • Gabe Lee
  • Johnny Falstaff
  • Sterling Drake – Winner
  • Theo Lawrence

Honky Tonk Group

  • Teddy & the Rough Riders – WINNER
  • The Deslondes
  • The Golden Roses
  • The Shootouts

Western Swing Female

  • Brennen Leigh – WINNER
  • Meg Ferrell
  • Melissa Carper
  • Stacey Lee Guse

Western Swing Male

  • Cory Grinder
  • Kevin Mauzy Martin
  • Kyle Eldridge – WINNER
  • Mitch Polzak

Western Swing Group

  • Carolyn Sills Combo – WINNER
  • Lovesick Band
  • Sad Daddy
  • The Cowpokes

Rockabilly Female

  • Angie Monroy
  • Gizzelle Becerra DeAnda
  • Mozzy Dee – WINNER
  • Svetlana “Zombierella” Nagaeva

Rockabilly Male

  • Eddie Clendening
  • Les Greene – WINNER
  • Oleg “Guitaracula” Fomchenkov (aka Oleg Gitarkin)
  • Omar Romero

Rockabilly Group

  • Black Kat Boppers
  • Messer Chups – WINNER
  • Televisionaries
  • The McCharmlys

Outlaw Female

  • Kat Hasty
  • Kelsey Waldon – WINNER
  • Taylor Hunnicutt
  • Stefanie Joyce

Outlaw Male

  • Billy Don Burns – WINNER
  • Dallas Burrow
  • Jason Boland
  • Willy Tea Taylor

Outlaw Grou

  • Banditos
  • Kyle Nix & the 38’s
  • Reckless Kelly – WINNER
  • Supersuckers

Musician Of The Year

  • Eleanor Whitmore – Fiddle
  • Floyd Domino – Piano
  • Jason D Williams – Piano – WINNER
  • Kullen Fox – Horn
  • Lisa Pankretz – Percussion

Ameripolitan Venue Of The Year

  • American Legion Post 82, Nashville TN
  • Gruene Hall, New Braunfels, TX – WINNER
  • Skinny Dennis, Brooklyn, NY
  • Southgate House revival, Newport KY

Ameripolitan DJ Of The Year

  • Ashli Dansby on KMHT RADIO 103.9, MARSHALL, TEXAS
  • The Morning Crew on KCWM, TEXAS
  • Tracy Pitcox on KNEL RADIO, BRADY TEXAS

Ameripolitan Festival Of The Year


Featured photo by Laura Ord

Written by Alli Patton
Content Sponsor
Album – Passage Du Desir – Johnny Blue Skies

'Scooter Blues' by Johnny Blue Skies – Lyrics & Meaning

Megan Moroney Am I Okay? Album Artwork

'Miss Universe' by Megan Moroney - Lyrics & Meaning

Megan Moroney Am I Okay? Album Artwork

'I Know You' by Megan Moroney – Lyrics & Meaning

Megan Moroney Am I Okay? Album Artwork

'Third Time's the Charm' by Megan Moroney – Lyrics & Meaning